TURBONEGRO – Apocalypse Dudes

Written by on 2023-03-06

Sex, noise and fun. Oh yeah, beer as well. Those are the ingredients of a successful hard rock concert/festival/party (delete as appropriate). Because, as it turns out, hard rock fans are not a difficult crowd to satisfy.

However, TURBONEGRO is above all that. TURBONEGRO is refined, delicate and subtle. The sensitiveness showed on “Ass Cobra” is on display here. With a succession of songs more beautiful and poetic than the others. As an ode to the morning scratching of genitals, each songs plays on its personnal touch. Especially, “Good Head” and its Shakespearian level lyrics and “The Age Of Pamparius”, with its contemporary and very serious theme, shows how Bono is not the most politically-aware singer.

Let’s stop the joke here, you all know what you are here for. The six “Apocalypse Dudes” once again deliver a filthy, greasy, decadent record. If you like shaking your beer belly and your fat ass on catchy riffs, you will get your money’s worth given how easy it is to dance to all the songs. If you like raunchy lyrics and weird song subjects (“The Age Of Pamparius” is indeed about pizza) as well as scabrous humor, you are in the right place. Moreover, if you are looking for good execution, then you will definitely be thrilled. Because in addition to being jokesters, those dudes are also good performers, especially on songs like “Selfdestructo Bust” and “Prince Of The Rodeo”, two little gems that I never get enough of.

Admittedly, it is not all perfect and some songs are not as good as the rest (still good songs though) like “Zillion Dollar Sadist”, for example, and they drag the record a bit down. Nevertheless, let us not be fussy here, this record remains an absolute banger.

Released 26/01/1999 via Epitaph Records


01. The Age Of Pamparius
02. Seldestructo Bust
03. Get It On
04. Rock Against Ass
05. Don’t Say Motherfucker Motherfucker
06. Rendezvous With Anus
07. Zillion Dollar Sadist
08. Prince Of The Rodeo
09. Back To Dungaree High
10. Are You Ready (For Some Darkness)
11. Monkey On Your Back
12. Humiliation Street
13. Good Head


Hank Von Helvete (Vocals)
Euroboy (Lead guitar)
Rune Rebellion (Rhythm guitar)
Pål Pot Pamparius (Keyboards)
Happy-Tom (Bass)
Chris Summers (Drums)

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Continue reading

Current track